Freeh Report

Search

Tokens
I just finished reading the Freeh Report. If you have read the the 144 page report I would like to see your reaction on Paterno. I can understand why his family is upset.

Although he could have done more because of his status and am surprised that he was included in this report. The Penn State administration fucked up by not reporting this to child welfare.(obvious especially in hindsight).

I have been teaching in a Pennsylvania high school for 13 years. I was always told that I must report any abuse or suspected abuse to a counselor, social worker or administration or I could lose my job.(Similar to Clery Act) I was told once I reported this to one of these people that I have met my obligation. I also could lose my job if I did not follow chain of command and called child welfare myself.

I know that I am not Joe Paterno and I do not have the power that he had but to me it seems that he told his administration what McQueery reported to him. When he reported to Tim Curley, the AD and Paterno's boss he met his obligation under the Clery Act.

As Paterno said he regretted that he did not do more. Morally he should have done more but I still find it hard to believe that he was knowingly protecting a pedofile. From 1966 until 2011 we have been told how he stressed honor and integrity and doing things the right way. Protecting a pedofile, one of if not the worst crime imaginable, would make you the scum of the earth and almost as bad as the perpetrator. Unfortunately we may never know what Paterno knew unless he kept files or wrote a journal.

Tokens
I still find it hard to believe that he was knowingly protecting a pedofile.